How to write Java services

I’m new to webMethods and need to find some examples or tutorials that explain how to write Java services in webMethods. I’ve created classes in Eclipse, but I need to come up to speed with this environment.

Can anybody help me out?

Thanks,

Ted

Hi Ted,

DeveloperUsersGuide.pdf has a lot of info which will definitely help you. Please do refer to that.

Thanks,
Anitha.

Be sure to read the various discussions on the forums about the use of Java services. When to create Java services and how Java code is structured is quite different from what you’re probably used to using Eclipse.

Java Services are written using the Developer tool. Here is a quick introduction:

1) Create the java service
(This presumes that you have created a package, and some folders)
Right click on the folder that you want to contain the java service.
Choose New à Java Service
Developer will create a new java service for you (it looks like a
coffee cup), highlighting its default name:
Untitled
Type a new name for the service and hit enter

2) Code your service
The main window will show the empty service. A service is basically a static method that can is called by other flows.

Notice that the method signature (at the top of the pane) is
public static void (IData pipeline) throws ServiceException {

Your method call can get information set in the input/output tab by accessing the IData pipeline object. There are several ways to get information from the pipeline. (The pipeline is basically a wM proprietary hashmap). One way is to get an IDataCursor using the pipeline’s getCursor() method. Once you have a cursor, you can use it to traverse the pipeline, getting and setting values. There are several ways to use the cursor to get data. My preferred way is to use the IDataUtil static methods to access the cursor, but it is by no means the only way. At the end of your code, you should destroy your cursor (cursor.destroy()). If your code needs to throw an exception, use