How to move P to N field?

How i said in the title i have a P field and i need move to N field, how to do that? because a simple MOVE i can’t do

For example:

DEFINE DATA

Local
1 VAR-P (P09)
1 RESULT-N (N11) (EM=ZZZ.ZZZ.ZZ9)
END-DEFINE
WRITE ‘=’ VAR-P
MOVE VAR-P TO RESULT-N
END

OUTPUT
VAR-P = 440?000

Error messages: NAT0954 Abnormal termination S0C7 during program execution.

ACLARATION: i’m new in this, sorry for the ignorance, any help it’s welcome here!, thanks for reading and for u time

A S0C7 indicates invalid data in the packed field, how did this value into the field ?

Move valid data into VAR-P and it’ll work, MOVE from P to N is the correct way.

This value is coming from file

Then the data coming from your file is NOT PACKED:

Or someone managed to store invalid data on the file. This can happen if the P field is redefined.

DEFINE DATA                      
LOCAL                            
1 VAR-P (P09)                    
1 REDEFINE VAR-P                 
  2 VAR-A (A05)                  
1 RESULT-N (N11) (EM=ZZZ,ZZZ,ZZ9)
END-DEFINE                       
MOVE 'ABCE' TO VAR-A             
MOVE VAR-P TO RESULT-N           
DISPLAY VAR-P RESULT-N           
END

This will result in SOC7.

Some things to use when the incoming data is suspect:

• check if the field is packed with the “IF = MASK(NNNNNNNNZ)” statement and report an error if it is not (see docs: Logical Condition Criteria)
  • display the field with a hex edit mask to see the actual contents of the field (EM=H(5)) in hex