How to map two differnt namespace documents.

Hi All,

I need to map two documents which were created using two different XML schemas (i.e, two diffrent namespace and two different prefix (ns: and tns:)). How do I map them?

Should we map element by element? OR are there any services available? I am kinda new to XML mappings. I appreciate any help.

Thanks,
Gany

Hi Gany,

if you need the namespaces (and they point to different definitions), i think yes. But if you do not need them (you do not validate your message), just remove them, and make one mapping.

Rob

Rob,

Thanks for reply. I have a situation…

Message1
ns:msg1
ns:fld1
ns:fld2

where ns=http://abc.com

Messge2
tns1:msg1
tns1:fld1
tns1:fld2

where tns1=http://xyz.com

These two messages are in two different namespaces. Both of them are created using two diffent xsd schemas. How do we map them (each has lot of fields including documents and document lists). If there is no data in those documents lists has @xsi:nil etc. I am guessing there must be some easy mapping using xml technics (XSLT) or so. As I mentioned, I am new to XML mappings. I appreciate your help.

Thanks,
Gany

Normally, when the creators of two documents specify different XML namespaces they do so intentionally to indicate clearly that the two documents do not define elements which may have thes same name in the same way (e.g ns:fld1 does not refer to the same thing as tns1:fild1).

It would be incorrect to just map documents from different namespaces together without knowing for sure that they each element refers to the same thing.

If the documents do refer to the same thing and you know that each field in the first is defined in the same way in the second, then you might be able to do the following assuming that each is created from an xml string:

1. Use pub.xml:xmlStringToNode to create a node from the first xml string. Set isXML to “true”.