General Workflow Questions

Hi all,

I am new to webMethods Workflow 6.0.1, and have a few basic questions:

1. I know WF can integrate with LDAP, but what about Active Directory? Any others?

2. Do WF Participants (e.g. end users) need the Workflow Designer installed on their desktops to access the Inbox? We could potentially have well over a hundred end-users, and we’d like to avoid having to install the heavy WF Client on all of their computers. Is it possible to access the Inbox and other end-user functionality from a web browser?

3. Can we create standalone Workflows, outside of webMethods? For example, we may have some projects here that aren’t using the webMethods platform, but still have some Workflow requirements. Could these non-webMethods project still effectively utilize wM WF? Does the WF server have to attach to a Broker?

4. Based on experience, are there compelling reasons to develop on WF 6.1 over 6.0.1?

All responses, advice, opinions are welcome. Thanks.

Josh,

Welcome to WM Users! I’d encourage you to register and to visit often.

Since Active Directory is LDAP-compliant, you should be able to integrate with it as with any other LDAP directory provider. See the “Workflow LDAP Authentication Plug-in for Example” in the Advantage Workflow SIG for details on how to integrate workflow with LDAP.

I think you would just update the ldap.prop file to point to your AD server. You might take a look at Active Directory LDAP Compliance for more details.

Workflow end users do not need workflow designer on their workstations. However, if you plan to use the thick client inbox and thick client task panels the users will need the workflow client installed. When they login they will be taken directly to the inbox and will not see the menu bar that contains the users, designer, administrator and monitor tools. If you will be using thin-client (HTML) inboxes and task panels, then the users do not need anything on their workstations other than a browser.