ExecSql problem

Hi
I am new to webMethods. I want to use the MSAccess North wind database in WM. I have created an alias with Control panels ODBC utility. When using this in pub.db.execSQL I am getting an error unknown Alias. Can anyone help me out what should I do to run execSQL?

pls check the alias, whether it is establishing connection to MSAccess database or not.

using service pub.db:connect

Thanks.

All the necessary information is in the developers guide and the help documents. Please refer the same and you will be able to do most of the database stuff
Good Luck!

Hi, Michael.

VR and Ram are both right. Start with the manuals and try the DB services. My hunch is that you didn’t properly create a Database Alias using the Administrator (http://localhost:5555).

Give it a shot and let us know how you make out. Good luck with everything.

“…created an alias with Control panels ODBC utility.”

You need to create an alias with the Integration Server Administration tool. It is this alias, not the ODBC alias, that gets passed to execSQL.

Follow VR’s advice and take a look at the wM docs. They will provide the info you need to be successful.

You need to use WM’s JDBC-ODBC bridge adapter, which comes with the product. Via WM’s Admin, you create an alias with this adapter, using for parameter’s, the ODBC DSN you setup on ODBC manager.

That’s it. I did not find the manuals very clear on the JDBC connections.

Be aware that the “standard” JDBC-ODBC bridge is not re-entrant and WILL cause IS to hang once you try to move to production (in classic Murphy’s Law form, the hang will most likely not occur during development).

Would strongly encourage using a “real” JDBC driver or a JDBC-ODBC bridge that is known to be re-entrant.

Hi, Rob

Do you have a list of “real” JDBC driver or a JDBC-ODBC bridge that is known to be re-entrant?

What is your database? Every database has its own jdbc driver which is re-entrant. You can get the information from there websites.
Thanks