EDIflatfile conversation management

I’m new to the whole EDI thing (webMethods too for that matter) but I think I’m getting a handle on most of it. There is one thing that has me stumped though, and I’d appreciate a little help with it.

We receive an X12 850, convert this (in webMethods) to a flatfile format, then send it to our mainframe via ftp. The mainframe will then process the 850, and send a flatfile to the IS containing the details of an X12 855 (POAck).

Using BI for conversation management is finally starting to make sense to me, but when I get to the part where the mainframe sends back the flatfile, I’m stumped. How do I represent this in BI?

The “trigger” document isn’t coming in through TN because it’s a non EDI flat file. Am I missing something? How is the conversation management supposed to deal with this type of situation?

Thanks a million in advance - I’ve been lurking and learning here for quite some time

This is a common question in regards to how trading networks handles flat files. This is taken care of out of the box in webMethods 6.0, however in 4.6 and earier, you can’t just send a flat file to trading networks. The approach i’ve taken is to create a custom xml wrapper. something simple with a and a . You can just map your flat file string into the body document. I would also recommend putting and nodes in their too… so then you can define a custom document type in TN. Then in BI you can import this custom document type into your ‘documents and system’ and use it in your process models/conversation scripts.

that last post deleted some words due to my bracket tags…