Docname - Attribut, Element or what?

Hello!
I am totally new to Tamino, and as a matter of fact also to XML…
I have been trying to understand how I can query an XML Document out of our in-house developed (in Delphi) application. It seems like I need to acesss the doc through an unique identifier, either this id (generated by Tamino) or through docname…

And I really do not know how to deal with this docname:
a) is docname specific from Tamino or a standard element from XML (till now in the tutorials I’ve made I’ve only met doctype)?

b) do I have to state it in my XML document? If yes, is docname an attribut from my root element or a child element itself?

or

c) do I have a possibility to enter a value for this docname from the Tamino Schema Editor, after I do an import DTD (I work with DTDs)?

I apologize for so many questions already. I am also new to such Foruns :wink: and do not know if this is the right way to ask…
Well, I will find out soon…

Thanks everybody!

Hi!

I’ll try to answer some of your questions and perhaps someone else will fill in the gaps.

First of all, I’d recommend reading the documentation for Tamino → Get started. It talks about what is a doctype, etc.

However, I know that some nomenclature and concepts are quite new when coming to Tamino.

Basically, if you want to store “some xml” into tamino, you have to first have a database created, then within a database you have collections, and then within collections you have doctypes. Think of doctypes loosely as “tables” in SQL server.

From XML, you might now that every XML document, or fragment must have only one root node. Well tamino does the same thing. However, in tamino, you create a doctype, which is then associated to the root of your document. The doctype and the root node have the same name.

I am sure an example will explain it better:

I have a database “industry”, with a collection “subscriptions” and in it I have two doctypes: “subscription” and “products”.