Creating an XML file

Hello All,
I’m fairly new to WM, so any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

I have a service which returns results that I need to put into an xml file. So basically I have data that I need to put into an xml file. How do I create an xml file?
Thank you

The easiest way would be to create a record from the target DTD or schema. Then you can map you data into a record reference and then simply call pub.web:recordToDocument

hi;
i want to actually maintain a xml based property file in the B2B server.I want the user to be able to add/delete/view the properties in this XML based file.
Whats the best way of doing it ?
thanx…

Hey Ak,

Theo gave you good information. However, to write the file, you will need to create a simple writeFile java service.

Here is one for you to help with this task:

INPUT:

T - fileContents
T - fileName (this includes full path /usr/home/yourfile.txt)

OUTPUT:

T - serviceMessage

Possible serviceMessages:

WF-01 - File Written
WF-02 - Error

Imports:
java.io.*
java.lang.*
java.util.*
java.text.*

(you can probably get rid of some of these imports, but I need
them because they are shared)

Here’s the code:

// fileContents - String contents of file.
// fileName - name of file you want to write.

IDataHashCursor idhc = pipeline.getHashCursor();
idhc.first( “fileContents” );
String fileContents = (String) idhc.getValue();
idhc.first( “fileName” );
String fileName = (String) idhc.getValue();
idhc.destroy();

String serviceMessage = “”;

try {

char buffer = new char[fileContents.length()];
fileContents.getChars(0, fileContents.length(), buffer, 0);

FileWriter fw = new FileWriter(fileName,true);

fw.write(buffer);

fw.close();

serviceMessage = “WF-01”;

} catch (Exception e) {

serviceMessage = “WF-02”;

}

// output pipeline

// pipeline
IDataCursor pipelineCursor = pipeline.getCursor();
IDataUtil.put( pipelineCursor, “serviceMessage”, serviceMessage );
pipelineCursor.destroy();