CICS failing due to Natural

Hi,

I am a Natural programmer.

Our CICS Application has been experiencing some problems. When we checked with our IT, the CICS server fails whenever a certain Natural program (a subprogram that has been executing flawlessly since 2002…cataloged date is 2002-03-21) is invoked by the front-end program (PowerBuilder object). According to IT, CICS issues an error message (please refer to the attached file for details on the CICS error).

What we did was to STOW the subprogram involved and all the other Natural objects used within that subprogram and uploaded the recompiled objects to our production environment. After that, the CICS server did not fail anymore.

Can anyone explain the following:

1. What could have caused the problem? And why did it only happen now after 10 years?
  2. Why did a simple STOW command solve the problem? What did it have to do with the CICS error?

Thank you very much! :slight_smile:
CICSFMS1 Error Messages.doc (58 KB)

There’s really no way of finding the cause without knowing WHERE in Natural the S0C4 happened,
so one would either need the CICS transaction dump, or, when Natural is run with DU=OFF, check
with the DUMP command inside Natural.

Thank you for your immediate reply. :slight_smile:

Sorry, but I don’t know what you mean by “knowing WHERE in Natural the S0C4 happened”. I can only say that the error would seem to point to a certain line in the source code where the Natural subprogram calls another subprogram.

Sorry, with

I am talking about the Natural runtime environment.

When you say this subprogram is “invoked by a PowerBuilder object” I assume this is
a RPC call, and not terminal driven ?

Sorry again, I don’t know what you mean by “RPC”. If you mean how Powerbuilder communicates with Natural, it’s through a middleware called Openlink.

RPC = Remote Procedure Call

At any rate, what I was trying to say is that error like this cannot be solved or even