BPM Noob Help

Hi, All.

I’ve been using WM IS and TN for about three years. We purchased BPM in the hopes that we could use it some day, as it looks to be very useful. I’m attempting to think about how it would be used for a current project, and am finding it difficult to understand how the BPM elements (tasks, events, etc.) should be used to formulate my process. I know this sounds stupid. I’ve read the BPM documentation a couple of times. It is full of references to things that I see when I poke around on the screen, and explains how to configure each item in detail.

What nothing seems to explain concisely is what the BPM engine is doing with this process. I do see some allusions to how the BPM engine runs in the administration guide, but it is rather veiled. I guess I’m looking for something like a cookbook that says, “when you want to do this… do that…”.

I will start with one scenario for this topic. If you’d like to answer any or all of it, please do. If you know of some document I’m missing or some section of a document that I have that explains this, please direct me to it.

Logical Scenario: My process has an initial stage where the entity that it manages sits and accepts data until that stage of the process is completed. At a point in time, or when a person requests that it be “closed”, that stage is closed and the entity begins to move through the rest of the business process.