Automated webMethods API Documentation

As a webMethods developer I always wanted an automated API documentor like javadoc. I finally got around to building it. Take a look and let me know what you think:

[url=“http://itw-inc.biz/products-wmdoc.html”]http://itw-inc.biz/products-wmdoc.html[/url]

Interesting-looking tool. Any chance it could be extended to optionally include a summary of the flow steps and the comments on each of those? I know that’s beyond what Javadoc does for Java, but it would be a very helpful option to have.

Also a few comments on the web page ([url=“http://itw-inc.biz/products-wmdoc.html”]http://itw-inc.biz/products-wmdoc.html[/url]) - you appear to be missing text under the Determine Percentage of Documented Services heading, and documentation is misspelled under the Reduce Duplication section.

bart,

Thanks for pointing us to that link,it might help the developer.

bart,

It is nice…but how to get those tools?

Looks nice… Is it Shareware?

The Developer has a built-in documentation feature that produces an html file.

The output of this feature shows a step-by-step view including ALL mappings that occur during the course of a flow service.

Bart’s tool, however, documents java services which is NOT included in the developer feature.

The information derived from both (Developer and Bart’s tool) reads the xml description files that contains the relevant data. Just compare the output of the example of either a developer output or the example at Bart’s web site.

Ray

The output of this feature shows a step-by-step view including ALL mappings that occur during the course of a flow service.

True, but I don’t believe that the built-in tool generates output including comments on the flow step. That’s more in line with what I was hoping for. The actual mappings aren’t necessarily something I’d want in the documentation anyway - easier to go to the actual code for that.

RMG

Thanks a lot…I am using webMethods 6.0.1 SP2 and the following fixes