Arrays in a map

Hello,

I have been a Natural programmer (UNIX) for a few years now and do not have much experience with arrays.

I have an array on a map with an upper bound of 8 and only 6 being displayed on the screen. All of the occurrences can be modified when the screen is in an UPDATE mode. Users can enter on any of them as long as the value is a valid code that. There is already validation to determine that and is working fine. The problem I am running into is trying to determine which array was modified because I need to to make sure that the value (2 character code entered) has not been used before. My approach was to compare what has already been stored in the table for the field, but I have not been able to figure out how to determine which occurrence of the array was modified. But I also need be able to validate if they enter the same code twice on the screen in update mode.

Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Joanna

The brute force method would be to save the table and compare new values to old.

MOVE #TABLE (*) TO #SAVE (*)
INPUT ...
IF  #TABLE (1) <> #SAVE (1)
  THEN
IF  #TABLE (2) <> #SAVE (2)
  THEN

The Natural way would be to use Control Variables, attaching one to each table entry. Then you could test whether an entry was MODIFIED.

INPUT ...
IF  #CV (1) MODIFIED
 AND #TABLE (1) <> ' '
  THEN
END-IF
IF  #CV (2) MODIFIED
 AND #TABLE (2) <> ' '
  THEN
END-IF

Since the table is small, I probably would use more brute force to cross-check the entries. OR= of a list of entries is quite efficient.

IF   #CV (1) MODIFIED
 AND #TABLE (1) <> ' '
  THEN
    IF  #TABLE (1) = #TABLE (2:#M)
      THEN
        REINPUT 'Dupe in entry 1' MARK *#TABLE (1)
    END-IF
END-IF
IF   #CV (2) MODIFIED
 AND #TABLE (2) <> ' '
  THEN
    IF  #TABLE (2) = #TABLE (1)
                OR = #TABLE (3:#M)
      THEN
        REINPUT 'Dupe in entry 2' MARK *#TABLE (2)
    END-IF
END-IF