Analytics builder: Get event data for counter

Hi

I want to implement a counter. It should count events with a certain type and text.
I have two different text for the type c8y_DataType: ( They are defiend in the LoRa Device Protocol)
{ “STOP”: { “unit”: “Pa”, “value”: -98541.6015625 } }
{ “MOVE”: { “unit”: “Pa”, “value”: -98535.1640625 } }

I only want to count the ones with “STOP”

How to extract the “STOP”?
I tried it with c8y_DataType.text in the Extract Property Block.
No success.

I even created a seperate event, that only has the event type defined as c8y_ElevatorStop and event text as “Stop”.
Then I used c8y_ElevatorStop.name and c8y_ElevatorStop.text.
Also no succes.
And it did not work for connecting the event output directly to the counter.

How to do this properly?

Thans
Johannes

Hi Johannes,

is it mandatory for you to solve this with the Analytics Builder? I’m not an expert on the Analytics Builder, but I guess this could easily be solved using EPL Apps in the Streaming Analytics application of Cumulocity. Can you share some more information what you want to do with the counter? Should it be stored on the representation of the corresponding device or should the count be written as its own event?

One solution might be to set up a general listener for Cumulocity events in an EPL monitor. In the listener you would filter for the STOP events. In case of an STOP event, you load the corresponding device and its representation. For the loaded device you check whether it already has a count property assigned to it. If yes, then you increment the counter by 1 and send a PUT update for the device. If the count property isn’t available yet, you create the property on the device and send an update to the database.

This approach would be quite generic and you would even persist the count of STOP events directly on the corresponding device representation.

Best regards
Christian

Hi Christian