A question in mapping

[FONT=Arial Narrow][SIZE=5][FONT=Arial Narrow][SIZE=5]

Hello !
I am very new to webMethods Developer… So I am going through webMethods Developer guide. I got question in mapping…
It says
"If you map an array variable to an array variable that has a defined length then the length of source array variable [FONT=PalatinoLinotype-Italic][SIZE=2][FONT=PalatinoLinotype-Italic][SIZE=2]must [/font][/SIZE][/FONT]equal the length of the target array variable. If the lengths do not match, the link will not occur."[/SIZE]

I am unbale find to how to define a length to array in webMethods developer…

[SIZE=2][FONT=PalatinoLinotype-Roman][SIZE=2][FONT=PalatinoLinotype-Roman][SIZE=2][FONT=PalatinoLinotype-Roman][SIZE=2][FONT=PalatinoLinotype-Roman][SIZE=2][FONT=PalatinoLinotype-Roman][SIZE=2][FONT=PalatinoLinotype-Roman][SIZE=2]Thanks in advance

[/size][/font][/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

“An array variable that has a defined length” simply means that the array is not empty :wink:
That’s why you don’t see any “length” parameter.

Ok, if we consider it in that sence then according to the above statement you should not not be able to map an array to another array having different length right.:confused:
But when I tried that, I was able to map an array to another array of different length.:frowning:

wmlearn,

I’m not sure what the doc statement exactly means but this is one mistake that might happen.

Ok, do this small change to your service and see what happens.

1. In a map step create a document say “targetDoc”, under it create a document array say “targetDocArray” with one string variable under it say “targetVar”. Now populate this with some 3 elements of “targetDocArray[0] - [2]”
  2. In the input of the service create the same structure but named say “sourceDoc” and so.