Windows vs Unix for hosting IS

We are building a new clustered wm installation.

The current architecture has Broker and SQL server on a Windows Cluster + SAN… and then IS running on Solaris 10.

The driver for this architecture is “its been implemented succesfully by another team” rather than to fit our specific requirements. (not that we really have any either!).

As a developer I would like to know what are the real pros/cons of Unix vs Windows for hosting IS.

I would personally like it hosted on Windows so we can use the .NET integration (we are not doing any yet, but most of us are .NET developers so would be nice to have the option!), but without a real value proposition it wont happen. Maybe Solaris is the best host, but it seems to me it wont do anything magical that can’t be done on Windows. (To my understanding, specific performance targets are not current requirement of ours anyway).

The debate of Unix vs. Windows has little to do with IS. IS will run fine on either, assuming competent sys admin skills on the platform. Sizing can also differ but that’s the same for any multi-platform app and as you mentioned, isn’t usually an issue in any case.

Go with the platform that has the best internal support from your sys admin team. IMO, you should forget the .NET support and focus on standards-based interfaces. A wayward .dll can pooch your entire JVM and crash IS.

What’s weird is Broker on Windows and IS on Solaris. Usually I see the reverse. There is no reason Broker shouldn’t be on Solaris–that’s where it was born and grew up! Windows was the “other” platform.

As far as hosting is concerned both platforms are good.
However it becomes difficult to take backups when you have windows.

It is possible to take backups in windows, however the simplicity which UNIX gives no one can give.