Why natural Adabas??

Why Would I pay good money for a Natural certification, if there is no new sites out there. I have been a Natural Adabas programmer for over 8 years and in those 8 years the job market has dwindled to a mere 8 companies in my country that is still using Natural Adabas and of those 8, I know of 3 that is busy or looking to move to SAP or MS systems.

Companies has moved over to other technologies because of the stigma of Natural Adabas being an heritage system. And SoftwareAG has done nothing that I can see to improve the image.

They have nice development tools and new natural versions, but as long as the sigma is attach to Natural Adabas, there is no future in staying with Natural Adabas.

Surly is is more wise to try and get into .NET or SAP.
:?:

There are over one hundred Adabas/Natural sites in South Africa. Is it surprising that at some point in time there are “only” eight companies looking to acquire new people? Hardly. If that were the case in the U.S., at any point in time we would have eighty shops looking for people; that does not happen. Probably half that number would be more accurate here. If you think about the percentage a bit, you will realize that eight out of a hundred is quite a large number.

You are correct in another respect. There are shops looking to go “modern”. Java, .NET, C# are receiving a lot of interest. “Why” is beyond me. I cannot believe anyone would rather use any of these languages/systems rather than Natural to create a business system.

That said, there is definitely a growing market for the new guys in the development platform area. Over the next several years, good programmers in the new platforms will probably not be wanting for jobs. It never hurts to diversify your bets by learning new technology.