State of a flowjava service

Hi WmUsers,

I am relatively new to the concept of clustering of IS. If I expect my services on the IS to work in a clustered environment, does it mean that I need to set the ‘Stateless’ property of each of my service to ‘false’. In other words what is the use this property and what are the do-s and donts of it.

Any guidance on this is appreciated,
Brian

Brain,

Please check this link if this helps,pros and cons of stateless/caching…
[url=“wmusers.com”]wmusers.com

RMG,

Thanks for the response, but the thread you referred me to lead to a slightly different conversation. What I am trying to understand is the relationship between state of a service and the IS clustering.

Brian

The state setting of a service is independent of clustering. A stateless service simply is one where no session is created for the user. Stateless and stateful services can both be used in a clustered environment with failover. Read up on this in the wM clustering guide.

Brian,

Session/state information is stored in the repository, which should be shared when you have clustering enabled. All servers in a cluster will therefore have access to the same session/state infomation.

Regards,

Koen

Rob, Koen,

Thanks for your inputs. Yes, I certainly do need to read up the guide, but I am glad that my misconception is dispelled upfront. I was under the impression that using the clustered environment would require keeping the services as stateful, because the failover makes use of the state of the services that is stored in the repo. So am I right to derive from your replies that the state of a service referred to by the ‘Stateless’ property is different from the one being saved in the repo? If not, then doesn’t it mean that making a service stateless would keep any info relating to its state, from being stored in the repo, thus rendering the clustering useless?

Apologies if this sounds stupid.

Brian