Sorting a Record List

I’m currently using the IS 4.6. I have a record list in my flow service that I need to sort so that the output will be in the correct order. I will have records in the list that have the same key value(ShipUnit). I’m not a JAVA developer but I am very good with the building of flow services. There are no built in functions for sorting in webMethods. Any suggestions?

ShipUnit ItemNumber Quantity UPC BuyersItemNumber

Regards…

Here’s a Java service that should do the trick.
Name: sortList
Inputs:

• itemList; record list to be sorted in-place
  • keyField; field from record to use for sorting
  • sortDescending; if “true” will sort descending

Outputs:

• sorted; “true” if sort succeeded; “false” otherwise
  • itemList is sorted in-place

Source:[highlight=java]IData sortedItemList = null;

// pipeline
IDataCursor pipelineCursor = pipeline.getCursor();
IData itemList = IDataUtil.getIDataArray( pipelineCursor, “itemList” );
String keyField = IDataUtil.getString( pipelineCursor, “keyField” );
boolean sortDescending =
(Boolean.valueOf(IDataUtil.getString( pipelineCursor,
“sortDescending” ))).booleanValue();
pipelineCursor.destroy();

if(itemList != null)
{
sortedItemList = IDataUtil.sortIDataArrayByKey(itemList, keyField, IDataUtil.COMPARE_TYPE_COLLATION, null, sortDescending);
}

// pipeline
pipelineCursor = pipeline.getCursor();
IDataUtil.put( pipelineCursor, “sorted”, sortedItemList==null ? “false” : “true”);
pipelineCursor.destroy();[/highlight]
IDataUtil is a class defined in the API. You can look at the javadoc for it in the IS API stuff.

The only tricky part is the COMPARE_TYPE_*. I couldn’t get anything other than COMPARE_TYPE_COLLATION to work. The fourth parm to sortIDataArrayByKey is documented to be “pattern - A String specifying the pattern to sort by.” but I can’t for the life of me figure out what patterns are expected. Thus, this service only does string-based sorting. Numeric sorting won’t work right.