SOAP messages content handler

Hi,

Altough this is my first post, I had found wmusers to be pretty helpful on previous issues I have had. So thanks in advance.

Now, to my current problem:

I'm having a pretty common escenario where an external client sends a request to a  Web Service in IS (RPC style, altough I believe doc/lit it's better). Anyways, this request has to be completely synchronous, so the WS in IS does some processing and send back an answer (pretty normal until here). The prob is, I'm being asked to 'know', when sending back the response, if the requestor was online or not, so an automatic correcting action can be performed. 

I believe my only try is convincing the client this isn't natural and resembles client-server development instead of SOA (haven't been successful so far) or having the SOAP content handler rewritten to catch a 'hope-it's-thrown' exception when trying to send the response back to the requestor. I'm no expert on WS's so I'm not sure if this would actually work since I don't know if I'll be able to have access to that 'exception'. I'd appreciate any light shed on this matter.

On the other side, if the 'exception' approach is 'possible' (altough not plausible), I would still have to face with rewritting the SOAP content handler which I believe won't be a small task even knowing what it has to be implemented to successfully replace the wM's built-in content handler. 

If you happen to have any leads on this regard, would be highly appreciated.
I understand I would need to implement the getInputValues() and setOutputValues() methods from the ContentHandler interface but have no idea on what’s to be done there.

Again, I appreciate any ideas on how could this could be solved or reasons why it couldn't, even knowing how crazy this should sound.

Regards,
Brian Ponce

Hey Brian,