SOAP Error | iaik.security.ssl.SSLException: Peer sent alert: Alert Fatal: handshake failure | wM6.5

Hi All,

I am using webMethods 6.5 and I encountered the below error while executing the pub.client:soapHTTP service available in WmPublic.

java.io.IOException: iaik.security.ssl.SSLException: Peer sent alert: Alert Fatal: handshake failure

Initially I thought this was due to the certificate of the target url not being installed in wM IS but even after I imported the same, the flow did not work and I got the same error again.

I imported the client certificate by the below method:
Security > Certificates > Configure Client Certificates

Can you please help? I am not very experienced in working with SOAP services, so feel free to guide and ask for any inputs from me that’ll help in figuring out the issue.

Many thanks in advance,
Mainak.

Hi Mainak,

can you share an overview of your certificate configuration from IS Admin UI from the Security section?

Can you try "openssl s_client -showcerts -connect host:port" on your host to connect to the partner?
Or just try to access the WebService in a Browser window to check the certificate validity?

Depending on your partners server configuration you might run into a SSL/TLS version issue here, this should be identifiable by checking the access to the partners server by using the commands above.

If a SSL/TLS version is the root cause you will have to plan a migration of your webMethods installation to at least 9.12 (via 7.1.3 and 9.5) as wM 6.5 only supports TLS v1.0, while official TLS v1.1 and TLS v1.2 will be supported with 7.1.3 onwards, but for stable support at least wM 9.x (x >= 5) should be used.

Regards,
Holger

Hi Holger,

Thanks for your reply and it did shed some light on the issue.
First off, PFA the information you requested along with the output of the command you suggested.