publish - subscribe and document loss

Hai~

I’m still learning broker handling, and I’ve stumbled on a something. Lets say we have a basic pub-sub system, a flow service (iPublish) just to publish a document to the Broker. I have a trigger (iAmTrigger) to watch for the specific doctype (publishMe), and passing over to a handler service (iAmHandler). Basic as it gets.

Thinking forward, i kinda tried what happens when the handler service crashes.I was curious what happens to the document. I noticed, it gets rejected, and so deleted.

Is there a way, to ensure the documents are not lost in these cases?

the documents are not lost in this case. Messages picked up by trigger is not discarded until the invoked service completes execution. you will find more information in pub-sub guide, guaranteed delivery guide, etc.

It depends on what type of Document you are publishing ( volatiel/guaranteed ). Plz go through documentation for more details and to get clarity on this which is a very interesting mechanism in wM.

Thanks,

For better idea and understanding read the pub-sub guide…:slight_smile: Good luck

If you face any issues in implementation please post us back.

well yes…

As I got a better understanding of our original problem … (yeah communication problems are out of the juridiction of this forum I know :slight_smile: ), I have to manage documents, that are causing the handling services to crash.

Nevertheless, with the proper use of pub.flow:throwExceptionForRetry, I managed to retain the documents on the Broker, with Unacked status. Is there a way to resend, or ever better, edit before resend these docs ?

1 Like