PF7/PF8 QUERY

Hello Everybody,

I am new to Natural/Adabas and trying to gain expertise on the same.

We have this requirement, where in we need to display 5 records per page. And on hitting PF8 the next set of 5 records should be displayed until “No More Records Are Available for display” matching some criteria and similarly on hitting PF7 we should be able to navigate through previously displayed records (again 5 per page).

May I request for some guidelines/algorithm/sample code to implement the PF7/PF8 logic in natural?

Thanks for all your help!

Regards
Simmi

For PF8
I used an approach wherein I store the 5th record ISN for a given record and start from next ISN and find & display upto five records on hitting a PF8 key.

But unable to implement a similar logic for PF7 as I am unaware how to read a file/table in descending sequence of ISN.

Moreover the arrays I have used are declared as 1:5 (max five occurences).

I am not sure whether this approach is correct or not, just working on possibilities,hence any assistance would help me achieve my objective.

Awaiting some quick replies.

Thanks!

Perhaps you should also have a look at the
dynamic sequence feature
“READ EMPLOYEES-VIEW IN DYNAMIC #DIR SEQUENCE BY NAME”
See documentation for read or
look at the V4-RDDYN example in the SYSEXV libary.

Finn

Hi Finn,

Thanks for the quick reply. Is the approach undertaken by me a right approach?

1. Do we usually display records in ISN sequence? I am still working on the solution provided by you. Getting an error.Will get back on the same
    if it doesn’t work.

2. Is there any other alternative to this PF7/PF8? - like using arrays /dynamic instead of ISN?

May I request for sample code/algorithm for the same?

Thanks!

Hello,

Sincere apologies. Forgot to mention the following:-

Objective -
I need to display 5 records per page for a given ID.