Java service Symbol not found Error

Hi,

I’m new to java services.I’m trying to run a Java code but I’m facing some issues.

This is a part of the code which I’m using:

System.out.println(“About to invoke adapter”);
writeLog(“About to invoke adapter”);

I have imported java.io.* and java.io.Object

But i’m getting an error :

C:\Program Files\webMethods6\IntegrationServer\packages\DBADAPTER\code\source\testing.java:133: cannot find symbol
symbol : method writeLog(java.lang.String)

Please let me know why I’m getting this error.What has to be set for writeLog() method?Is there anything to be defined in source of Shared Tab.Reply Immediately.

Yes Ma’am… replying IMMEDIATELY!

Verry funny taurean…Please dont give immediate replies if you dont hav soluntions…

The error tells you what the problem is: it cannot find the method writeLog. You need to either create a method called writeLog (for example, in the Shared section) or you need to replace the call to writeLog with something else.

By the way, java.io.Object doesn’t exist.

Suggestion #1: it sounds like you would benefit from some basic Java training. Learning Java by creating Java services in the IS will probably be a painful experience.
Suggestion #2: don’t write “Reply immediately” in your future posts. It is almost a sure way of not getting any replies at all.

• Percio

Funny - not really… I wasn’t trying to be. My suggestion - heed to Percio’s suggetions - both of them. Also, I think this post from Rob is extremely useful and definitely worth reading.

~R

What prompted you to try to call writeLog()? I’m trying to figure out what API/class you are trying to use. AFAIK, there isn’t a public method in the IS API named writeLog in any of the public classes.

I’m tring to use writeLog method in LogWriter Class.It logs all activity.
[URL]http://www.jpedal.org/javadoc/org/jpedal/utils/LogWriter.html[/URL]

System.out.println(“About to invoke adaptor”);
writeLog(“About to invoke adaptor”);