how to set timeout on service

Hi all,

Is there a way to set timeout on the service?? lets says i create some flow service that invoke services which will query to backend system… How can i set timeout to that invoked service, so if that services running time is more than 2 seconds then it will exit from flow service. i’ve tried to set timeout from the properties, but it seems that the exception will raised only after the service step completed. It’s not what i’m looking… Actually, i’m new in webmethod, so any suggestion will be helpfull…

thanks

And what about the service that takes more than 2 seconds ?
Does it need to be killed or continue its processing ?

Hello,

Looks like your question is more related to ‘How to handle ISRunTimeExceptions’ i.e. Exceptions that occur due to transient errors like FTP connection,DB connections etc.
If that’s the case, Then please refer to webMethods_Developer_User’s_Guide_7_1.pdf, Page 144.

Thank you,
Anil

Yup, the service that run takes more than 2 second need to be killed. For adapter service, on “Dynamic SQL” tab, i can set query timeout, so if the query takes more than 2 second the exception will raise. But for flow service, i don’t know how to do that things? thanks

Hi Anil,

I’ve already read the documentation that you recommend, but i still did not find the solution. What i’m trying is to limit the service runtime, So there are no services that more than 2 seconds. If the service takes more than 2 second, that service should return error description that explain timeout. thanks…

May I ask what is the motivation behind the 2 second timeout? Normally, integrations don’t have such tight performance concerns. And normally, IS-hosted components aren’t used (nor really geared for) supporting UI response times (which is what I am assuming is driving the questions).