Flow service performance issue

Hi All,

My service selects records from DB (in this case 50K) which are PGP encrypted. I then loop over each record, decrypt and append each record to a file. Once all records are appended ...the file is PGP encrypted.

This design is slowing down my process.

Alternatives considered:

Select all records and publish each to broker. Trigger invokes concurrent threads which decrypt and append each record to a file (not sure if it leads to file locking problems).

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Regards
Dave

How are you performing the PGP decryption? In the past this needed a call to a command shell. Doing so for each record will be slow. Perhaps you could devise a means of decrypting batches of records to avoid the overhead of the command shell invocation.

Not sure which database you are using. Is there a way to use its stored procedures to perform the PGP decryption?

Mark

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your reply. I am new to PGP, please correct me if i am wrong.

(pub.openpgp:decrypt) service is being used and i did notice that the service is referring to command shell. We are using SQL DB and yes we have an option of Stored procedure encryption/decryption, but we want to see if we can improve wM performance by changing our design. Would you please brief me with the process of decrypting batches of records. Also as i mentioned earlier i have to append all decrypted records to a file and encrypt the whole fine again.

Do we have problem with decrypt service as i am looping for each record (status,error and output variables) of decrypt service keep adding up in the pipeline for each iteration. Should i be explicitly dropping these variables ?

I would think that decrypting a batch of records using a stored procedure would be much faster than iterating over the same number of records making a call to the pub.openpgp:decrypt service for each.