Document type creation...

Hi, Is there a way in whcih we can create a document on broker without creatinfg on on developer? Please suggest how to do that.

I think the broker admin API provides a way to do this.

hi rob,
could you please be a little more specific… I am kind of new to webMethods.

Broker provides Java and C APIs. These are documented in Programmer’s Guides and Javadoc which can be found in the _documentation/Broker_and_JMS directory of a 7.1 installation.

The Broker Administrator’s Guide identifies how document types can be created. These include using Developer, the Broker admin client API (more on this below), or My webMethods by adding a JMS topic as a Broker document type.

The Broker admin client API defines a class named BrokerAdminTypeDef. This class provides methods to create, modify or destroy document types (the documentation still uses “event” which was the term used for “document” in previous versions). This would be the class to use to define document types on Broker.

In refreshing my understanding (it’s been a while since I’ve coded anything against Broker directly) I found that the Javadoc indicates that BrokerAdminTypeDef is deprecated but does not identify a replacement (nor could I find a class that looked like it was a replacement). The Broker Java Administration Programmer’s Guide for 7.1 has “Manageing Broker Event Types” as chapter 1, which seems really odd. In the 6.5.2 guide it was chapter 4, after overview, broker server/broker, and broker client chapters.

My guess is that the plan was to deprecate BrokerAdminTypeDef but they decided to back off of that for some reason and didn’t update the Javadoc. It seems that BrokerAdminTypeDef may disappear, possibly in favor of JMS equivalents. But that’s pure speculation.