Copying Natural 8.2.7 objects into PDSes

I’m new to Natural and ADABAS. In the past, workers have had a mechanism to copy Natural objects to PDSes based on type. The objects were unloaded to a work file and a REXX script read the work file and copied the object to the appropriate PDS. I don’t have much more than that to go on. I created a small Natural application. I tried using SYSOBJH to unload the objects and received an error saying the work files were unavailable. I see the work files when I enter the SYSFILE command. Something is not set up correctly. I read the Natural manual and see that the work files definitions. It says “In z/OS under TSO and in batch mode, work files need not be predefined in the JCL. Provided they are defined by subparameter AM=STD, they can be allocated dynamically during the session by a Natural program using the DEFINE WORK FILE statement or the application programming interface USR2021 (in library SYSEXT).”

Does the SYSOBJH code do what the manual says is required? Is there an easier way to get objects into PDSes? The reason why this is necessary is beyond the scope of my questions. Let’s just say I need to do this.

Perhaps there is a good reason out there somewhere to extract a Natural object to a PDS, but I haven’t seen it. (I don’t consider application conversion a good reason.) I have seen it used as a workaround for an application design flaw. SAG must agree with me, because they don’t offer a straightforward function to do this.

You have two options. One is verbose (i.e. painful to use), the other requires coding.

The first option is entirely JCL. Adjust accordingly. Note that the object’s name is specified four times. Only one object can be extracted per job step. Also, data area formatting may not be to your liking.

//SYSMAIN  EXEC NATBT,PRM='AUTO=ON'     
//CMPRINT   DD SYSOUT=*                                
//CMWKF01   DD DSN=your.pds(your-obj),DISP=SHR    
//CMSYNIN   DD *