Considering an upgrade

Hi

I am a developer at a client who is considering upgrading their Wm platform to version 6.5 (they use components ES 5.0, EI 4.6 and various adapters version 4.11)

I not really involved in any decision making (so I dont count much) but I am hearing stories of the possible upgrade of the platform or scraping the entire platform and implementing another product from a different vendor.

I am aware that there are many factors to consider but I feel that I dont disagree with scraping a platform to implement another that has been successfully running in prod for the last 5 years. I know the upgrade is a huge step (considering time estimates, costs, business continuity etc…) but I feel that I want to say something about how I feel - I have read various documents and I know there are many implementation options available that can used to upgrade the system that can affect costing and time etc.

I would like to know if there is any actual benefit from scraping the platform and implementing another product - I personally think that would cost the client far more than upgrading the platform (I am not sure though). I would like to know you thoughts and views in considering the costs of an upgrade or implementing another product?

Regards

Paul

Paul,

There are often good reasons for scrapping one vendor platform and going with another even if that platform is not (sniff, sniff) webMethods.

Hopefully, the reasons under consideration have to do with real functionality differences between the incumbent vendor and the one under consideration or with a major price point advantage that might come with a new vendor (e.g. an open source ESB project vs. webMethods).