CAF Portlet Headers and Footers

I’m new to CAF portlet development. I’m using Designer 8.2 to create portlets. When I view my portlet in a web browser I see the following headers and footers (see attachments).

How do I modify/change what the headers and footers look like?

Can I create my own? If so how?

I looked at the CAF Development Help documentation but did not find anything that describes how to do this. I thought maybe it could be done with MWS Adminstration but I’m not sure this is the correct approach or not.

Any ideas on how to do this will be appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi Gilbert,

The solution to your problem is, you need to create your own custom header portlet and footer portlet.

Then you need to create the your own shell rule which will inherit your customized header and footer and apply it to your project.

I hope this will help you. :slight_smile:

That’s great news.

Can I write one of these shell rules from within my portlet project using Designer?

In the documentation I have read I haven’t seen anything on how to write a shell rule. The only reference I have seen is a brief reference to them in the MWS section of the CAF Development Help documentation but there is no description on how to create one.

Thanks…

Hi Gilbert

Yes you can write your own shell rules but not using designer but using MWS administration (via sysadmin login)

You can navigate to Administration > User Interface > Manage Shell Rules > Create New Rule.

You can also assign roles/group to that shell so that only those users who have access can see your custom portlets.

you can refer Administering_My_Webmethod_Server.pdf.

You hints helped me solve it. Thanks!

[quote=Prateek Bhatnagar]
Hi Gilbert,

The solution to your problem is, you need to create your own custom header portlet and footer portlet.

/quote]

I have everything working but all I have been able to do is to inherit or ignore the standard predefined headers and footers on MWS.