Accessing Windows Network Files from webMethods server

Other than FTP, does anyone have a reliable method of accessing network files.

If you are using webMethods Integration Server 6.0+, then there is a file polling port that you can set up and use. Make sure that the user account that the server runs under has permissions to access the network share.

If you are using pre-6.0, then you can build an equivalent in java to scan a directory, return an array list of file names and use pub.file:getFile to return the contents.

HTH

Ray

I thought about that but I don’t know how I would go about polling a network share. Do you know how to create a network share and then pulling the files off that share to the webMethods server?

I’m not a windows expert (so someone else can chime in here please) but you should be able to go to the box where you want to share and create a folder.

Once you create the folder, be sure that the user has permission to access the shared folder. Then, to access the share remotely, type in the name of the host or box and the folder name like this:

\YOUR_BOX_NAME\SharedFolderName

You may need to add an extra slash if you are accessing the shared windows folder from a unix box:

\\YOUR_BOX_NAME\SharedFolderName

Once the share is created, then you have to set up a file polling port. The Administrator manual covers this topic. It is set up under ports in the admin console for IS.

HTH

Ray

I’m sorry… I’m not explaining myself. I have a Windows network share that windows user ABC can access. How can I create a service that will be able to access that share as that user and get some files?

I guess it depends on what you are trying to accomplish. The file polling mechanism in webMethods 6.0+ allows you to “poll” a directory for files and action those files.