3145 error

Our shop has a system that was written by people that didn’t understand some of the subtleties of adabas/natural. We have on error routines that do a retry on a 3145 error, and sometimes (based on my adabas review reports) they retry 50,000 times or more.

I’m trying to count the 3145 errors, and limit the retries to 200. But we don’t really want to kick the users out just because a record is on hold. I think the problem is in the programs that have read or find loops, reject lots of records, and have update logic. This puts all the records read on hold.

What I need is a way to find out who, or what program has the record on hold. Because we have a 3145 error we know the record is on hold, but by whom? Is there a way to find that out?

I’ve been a natural developer for 17 years, and I understand that you should use a get inside the read loop, and update the get. But, I can’t seem to convince the powers that be. If I could tell them what program has the record on hold I may be able to get through to them.

I got a similar problem on our Solaris-System and solved it.

I don’t know, whether the ADABAS-Utilities are the same on Mainframe and Open Systems or not. If so, please see the ADABAS-Documentation for “ADAOPR … di=hq”.

For more Information please see:
http://natural.forums.softwareag.com/viewtopic.php?t=297
and
http://adabas.forums.softwareag.com/viewtopic.php?t=851

Hope this helps!

There is no “automatic” way I am aware of, but one option would be to use SYSRDC to track update commands (and their source) and match them to the Rsp145.

By the way: I guess 200 retries are done within a fraction of a second in most cases.
Wouldn’t it be better to give the user the possibility to choose between a RETRY and a Abort?

Or an alternative if the user does not want to be notified would be to use USR2027N to create a wait interval between retries.

This is one of those times where a Natural API for SYSAOS type functions would be invaluable!