User Management- reporting

Product/components used and version/fix level:

Hi All,

I am part of IOT team and we use cumulocity IOT platform for our devices.
I need help with user management.

Detailed explanation of the problem:

we have 1000+ users added on to C8Y platform and have to check which user has not logged- in past 3 months, so that we can revoke their access.

I know that we can do it manually by checking in Audit logs - user login but as we have 1000+ users in 1 tenant and we have 50+ separate tenants operational so manual checking is not possible.

Is there any way we can automate this via APIs ?

Need suggestion form community.

Error messages / full error message screenshot / log file:

Question related to a free trial, or to a production (customer) instance?

Prod-Cloud

the quick answer is that it can be done; I’d use a script to do what you ask. You could probably build a microservice but that’s out of the range of my technical skills since I’m an admin and not a developer.

Personally I’d search for login events in the audit log in the time frame desired. That has the user name in the event. Then I’d compare those users that have logged in against the list of authorized users.

I really hope that you have the list of accessing users stored in Active Directory or other means; I wouldn’t want to even try to manage 1000 local users. But if you do that, since you’re scripting anyway, it would be a straightforward item to notify either yourself or whoever manages AD group memberships to remove those users. Although I haven’t personally done it, I’m willing to bet that an API can deactivate local users. If you want to see that, open the console and access the developer screen (f12 on a Windows computer). Select the Network tab… Do the action you want to do and you can see they calls/results. Then you can see exactly what API call has been made and repeat that.