The Coffee Factory

Introduction

Have you ever wondered how instant Coffee is made? In this blog, I’ll walk you through my Coffee Factory project which I created using Apama EPL without previous knowledge of the language. The project consists of two sub-projects, one of them is responsible for simulating the data within a Coffee Factory and the other one takes the role of Apama by analyzing the live data for any issues. If by any chance something wrong happens within our Coffee Factory, Apama takes care of the issue immediately and fixes it.

You can find my project on GitHub at GitHub - SpacePirato/Coffee-Factory: Written in EPL. Simulation of a Coffee Factory in which Apama tracks any issues in the production and reacts immediately.

Initially, I would like to introduce myself, my name is Peter and I’m an undergraduate student about to be in my final 4th year in Computer Science. I was a summer intern in Software AG’s Cambridge office from the 29th of July till the 27th of September (2019) and the Coffee Factory is just one of the things I worked on during my internship. The essence of this project was to think of an awesome demo I can develop to show off how Apama can be used for individual IoT. Therefore, since coffee is the second most popular drink throughout the world I thought it would be quite interesting for people to both get more familiar with how instant coffee is made and show off how Apama can be used to tackle the problems within the factory. After doing research about how coffee factories function, I realized that most of the tasks within a coffee factory are done by heavy machinery and lots of sensors which made the coffee factory project idea perfect for the demo I had to come up with!

How does it work